Your perfectionism is making you poor

Done is better than perfect. Always.

I've got a Zoom call in 10 minutes so I'm typing this out quickly.

Which, funnily enough, ties perfectly into today's lesson:

Consistency.

If you want your content to actually build an audience, you need to show up. Regularly. Even when you don't feel like it.

You see creators doing this all the time.

Daily posts, weekly newsletters, monthly YouTube videos. When all else fails...

Tell yourself that if you skip today, your dreams of being a successful creator die forever.

The truth is, most consistency is a struggle.

It's not some magical state where you're always inspired and motivated.

If it's effective, it's because you pushed through when you didn't feel like it.

Now I'm not saying you should produce crap just to stick to a schedule.

But rather, in reality, there's never a "perfect" time to create.

You could wait for inspiration, for better equipment, for more knowledge, or even for retirement.

There's always a reason why now isn't the ideal time to create.

And that's why consistency in content marketing is crucial.

You're battling the excuses in your own head.

Let's say you want to build an audience and monetize your knowledge.

You bounce between platform ideas.

You convince yourself you need to learn more before you start, and you put off creating anything.

You tell yourself that once XYZ happens, you'll be in a better position to really commit.

I've been there.

When I started my blog and my newsletter, I wrote "ship it" on a Post-it note above my desk.

Because I knew nothing happens until I put content out there, and the perfect piece I was waiting to create doesn't exist.

It will never exist.

And until you drill this into your skull, you'll wait.

You'll find a new reason why you can't create what you want, share how you want, and impact who you want.

Now will never feel completely "right", but it will always be the only time you have.

Sure, the audience will always be there.

The "best time to start was yesterday" advice might feel cliché.

The engagement might be low at first.

And the results might take way longer than you expected.

But you and I both know there's no perfect time to start creating.

In fact, most of the content I've made that resulted in the biggest breakthroughs was done on a whim when I felt a spark of motivation.

I got tired of waiting and followed my gut.

Maybe it's time for you to do the same.

Keep creating,

Kiyo

Reply

or to participate.