The productivity paradox

Why your bookshelf full of productivity hacks isn't making you more productive

It's 2 pm. My desk is a graveyard of productivity tomes.

Cal Newport's "Deep Work" sits atop David Allen's "Getting Things Done." Duhigg's "The Power of Habit" leans against Clear's "Atomic Habits."

I've read them all. Twice.

Yet here I am, bleary-eyed, racing to meet a deadline I've already missed.

The irony is palpable.

We've become connoisseurs of productivity literature, gorging ourselves on a buffet of life hacks and time management strategies. We devour books, podcasts, and YouTube videos with the voracity of a scholar preparing for a dissertation.

The uncomfortable truth:

We're conflating knowledge acquisition with actual improvement.

Last month, I spent 6 hours reading about time-blocking.

You know how much time I spent actually time-blocking?

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to The Deep Sesh to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Reply

or to participate.